Expand your search auto-complete function


  1. Box Office
  2. Daily
  3. Weekly/Weekend
  4. Monthly
  5. Yearly
  6. All time
  7. Select Period
  8. Box Office Reports
  • find news
  • find news searchKeyword
    find search button
See Your Schedule
please enter your email address
find search button
Ko - production in Busan
  • Congrats, Everyone!
  • by KIM Hyun-jung /  Dec 21, 2015
  • Results of 2015 Major Korean Film Awards

    It is time to sort out the trophies. We still have the Christmas and year-end left, but the results of those seasons should be counted next year. Now that most major Korean film awards have ended, let us count the number of trophies for the major films of 2015.
    The 52nd edition of the Grand Bell Awards, whose history goes beyond half a century, chose Ode to My Father to be the winner of the year. Ode to My Father monopolized trophies in 10 categories, including the Best Picture, Best Director (JK YOUN) and Best Actor (HWANG Jung-min). The Best Actress award went to Gianna Jun of Assassination.
    For another biggest awards along with the Grand Bell Awards, the Blue Dragon Awards, the biggest winner in this 36th edition is The Throne by LEE Joon-ik, receiving 4 trophies. However the major categories have been evenly allocated to several different films. The Best Picture award at the Blue Dragon Awards this year went to Assassination, the Best Director to RYOO Seung-wan (Veteran), the Best Actor to YOO Ah-in (The Throne) and the Best Actress to LEE Jung-hyun (Alice In Earnestland), respectively. 
    Then, which film would be the first pick by the critics? The 35th edition of the Korean Association of Film Critics Awards selected The Throne for the Best Picture award and RYOO of Veteran for the Best Director. The Best Actor award went to JUNG Jae-young of Right Now, Wrong Then, and the Best Actress to KIM Hye-soo of Coin Locker Girl.
    However, the 24th edition of the Buil Film Awards, the first film awards ever in Korea, loved The Shameless the most. The Shameless received the Best Picture and Best Actress awards (JEON Do-yeon). For the Best Director award, the winner is KWAK Kyung-taek of The Classified File and LEE Jung-jae (Assassination) won the Best Actor award. 
    Looking back on such different results, you may wonder what the actual filmmakers would pick. The 2015 Director’s Cut Awards hosted by Korean Film Directors’ Network and Directors Guild of Korea took place in August, leaving out Assassination, Veteran and The Throne from the candidate list. The winner for the Director of the Year is OH Seung-uk of The Shameless, and the Actor of the Year and the Actress of the Year are HWANG Jung-min of Ode to My Father and JEON Do-yeon of The Shameless.
  • Any copying, republication or redistribution of KOFIC's content is prohibited without prior consent of KOFIC.
  • Comment