Expand your search auto-complete function


  1. Korean Film News
  2. KOFIC News
  4. KO-pick
  5. Interview
  6. Location
  7. Post Call for Submissions
  • find news
  • find news searchKeyword
    find search button
See Your Schedule
please enter your email address
find search button
Ko - production in Busan
  • Four Korean nominations at the Asian Film Awards
  • Jan 18, 2012

    The 6th Asian Film Awards has announced nominations in 14 categories including one for PARK Hae-il, the star of period action thriller <War of the Arrows>, and three nominations for South Korea’s Academy Award Best Foreign Language Film submission <The Front Line>.

    PARK Hae-il was nominated in the Asian Film Awards’ Best Actor category for his performance in <War of the Arrows>, the top domestic film last year in South Korea. Park played a character who is forced out of his shell to wage a one-man war to save his sister and her fiancé when they are taken by foreign invaders.

    Korean War saga <The Front Line> got three nominations: LEE Je-hoon was nominated in the Best Supporting Actor category while KIM Woo-hyung (also known as KIM Wu-hyeong) was nominated for Best Cinematographer and RYU Seong-hee for Best Production Designer.

    The up-and-coming young actor Lee Je-hoon was recently voted Best New Director by Korea’s leading film magazine Cine21 for his performances in <The Front Line> and <Bleak Night>. Kim Woo-hyung also made that same list as Best Cinematographer for his work on <The Front Line> and <Late Autumn>. His long list of credits include IM Sang-soo’s <The President’s Last Bang> and <A Good Lawyer’s Wife> as well as JANG Sun-woo’s <Lies>.

    Ryu Seong-hee also won the Blue Dragon Award for Best Art Direction last year for her work on <The Front Line>. Like Kim, she has also worked with Korea’s top directors on films such as BONG Joon-ho’s <Mother> and <The Host>, PARK Chan-wook’s <Thirst> and KIM Jee-woon’s <A Bittersweet Life>.

    Singaporean director Eric KHOO was named Jury President for this year’s Asian Film Awards. He will be joined by eleven other jury members including CHO Young-Jung, Programmer in charge of Asian Cinema at the Busan International Film Festival; Christian JEUNE, Deputy General Delegate of the Cannes Film Festival; Kong RITHDEE, film critic at The Bangkok Post, and Jacob WONG, Curator at the Hong Kong International Film Festival and Director of the Hong Kong – Asia Film Financing Forum (HAF) as well as Delegate for Asia at the Berlin International Film Festival.

    The Asian Film Awards Presentation Ceremony will be held at Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre Grand Hall on March 19.
    Jan. 18, 2012
  • Any copying, republication or redistribution of KOFIC's content is prohibited without prior consent of KOFIC.
  • Comment