Expand your search auto-complete function


  1. Korean Film News
  2. KOFIC News
  4. Features
  5. Interview
  6. Location
  7. Post Call for Submissions
  • find news
  • find news searchKeyword
    find search button
See Your Schedule
please enter your email address
find search button
Ko - production in Busan
  • 43rd Crowns King and the Clown
  • by Nigel D’Sa (KOFIC) /  Jul 26, 2006
  • The 43rd annual Grand Bell Awards ceremony, held July 21st at the COEX Convention Hall in southern Seoul, presented its top prize for Best Film to King and the Clown as indeed almost everyone expected. The film grew into a colossal local hit when it was released in December of last year, attracting more than 12.3 million movie-goers to become the highest-grossing Korean film of all time. It was nominated in a record 15 categories, and took home seven awards, including Best Director, Best Actor and Supporting Actor, Best Cinematography, and Best Script. KARM Woo-sung won the Best Actor award for his lead role as Jang-saeng, an itinerant jester who ends up performing, along with his counter-part Konggil, for a slightly demented King in this Joseon-period-drama. KARM, 36, debuted in television in 1990 with the drama A Paradise of Our Own and made his film debut as the lead in Marriage is a Crazy Thing opposite UHM Jung-hwa. LEE Joon-Ik took the Best Director prize despite competition from more established director PARK Chan-wook. Newcomer and overnight sensation, LEE Joon-ki, to no surprise at all, won the Best New Actor award, for his role as the gender-bending Konggil. LEE also won the Most Popular Actor award which is based on internet and mobile-phone votes. The award for Best Actress went to JEON Do-youn for her compelling role as a hapless waitress/prostitute in You Are My Sunshine. Best Editing went to KIM Sang-beom, who was nominated for two films, Bloody Tie and Murder, Take One, winning for the latter. The Best New Director award went to HAN Jae-rim, for his cynical and unsettling romantic-comedy, The Rules of Dating. Nigel D'Sa (KOFIC) The complete list of winners are as follows: Best Film: The King and The Clown Best Director: LEE Joon-ik, The King and The Clown? Best Leading Actor: KARM Woo-sung, The King and The Clown Best Leading Actress: JEON Do-youn, You Are My Sunshine Best Supporting Actor: YOO Hae-jin, The King and The Clown Best Supporting Actress: KANG Hae-jung, Welcome To Dongmakgol Best Script: CHOI Seok-hwan, The King and The Clown Best Cinematography: JI Gil-yong, The King and The Clown Best Lighting: YOO Yeol-jong, Typhoon Best Editing: KIM Sang-beom, Murder, Take One Best Music: Michael Staudacher, Blue Swallow Best Art Direction: Jo Geun-hyun/LEE Hyung-joo, Duelist Best Visual Effects: KANG Joon-ik/SHIN Jae-ho/JUNG Do-an, Typhoon Best Sound Design: KOFIC/EUN Hee-soo, Blue Swallow Best Planning: OH Jung-wan/LEE Yoo-jin, You're My Sunshine Best Costumes: JUNG Kyung-hee, Forbidden Quest Best New Director: HAN Jae-rim, Rules of Dating Best New Actor: LEE Joon-ki, The King and The Clown? Best New Actress?: CHU Ja-hyun, Bloody Tie Most Popular Actor and Actress: LEE Joon-ki, KANG Sung-yeon [KOREA]? LEE Joon-ki, LEE Young-ae [OVERSEAS]
  • Any copying, republication or redistribution of KOFIC's content is prohibited without prior consent of KOFIC.
  • Comment