Expand your search auto-complete function


  1. Korean Film News
  2. KOFIC News
  4. Features
  5. Interview
  6. Location
  7. Post Call for Submissions
  • find news
  • find news searchKeyword
    find search button
See Your Schedule
please enter your email address
find search button
Ko - production in Busan
  • Korea Media Rating Board Elects LEE Mi-yeon as Chairperson
  • by Christopher Weatherspoon /  Mar 15, 2018
  • New Vice-Chair, Rating Board Members Also Chosen

    Director LEE Mi-yeon has been elected as the new head of the Korea Media Rating Board (KMRB). LEE’s election took place on February 26 at KMRB’s first meeting of the year where new members were also selected to join the board. 

    After studying film in France at ESEC, LEE Mi-yeon returned to Korea to direct the feature film L’Abri (2002), also participating in the omnibus If You Were Me 3 (2006). She previously served as the director of Women in Film Korea, which is a group that advocates for female filmmakers, and was also a member of the Korean Film Council’s (KOFIC, Chairman OH Seok Geun) film classification sub-committee.

    As the newly elected chair, LEE will lead the KMRB in a full-time capacity for a three-year term that will end February 25, 2021. Jeonju Film Commission Chairman JUNG Byung-gak, who was elected as the committee’s vice-chairman during the meeting, will also serve a three-year term.

    The Korea Media Rating Board is a public organization that is tasked with classifying films, videos and other audio-visual content into age-appropriate categories for domestic viewers. The organization states that its membership is comprised of professionals from different disciplines including visual arts, youth, law, culture, education and media.

    KMRB’s latest appointees include Dongseo University Professor NAM In-young, film critic GWAK Young-jin, Paramita Youth Association Director SEO Myeong-hui, lawyer LEE Cheol-won, Korean Women’s Association United President JANG Seon-hwa, Korean Animation Producers Association (KAPA) President JEONG Gil-hun and CHO Kyu-sang from the Korea Communications Standards Commission.
  • Any copying, republication or redistribution of KOFIC's content is prohibited without prior consent of KOFIC.
  • Comment