• News
  • Korean Film News

Korean Film News

Moon Geunyoung, the 1st Winner of the ‘Kang Sooyeon Award’ at the Women in Film Korea Festival

Dec 09, 2022
  • Writer by Park Hyejin
  • View2211

The Kang Sooyeon Award is Established to Commemorate the Late Kang Sooyeon, the Actor Who Raised the Status of K-movies




Actor Moon Geunyoung has been selected as the first winner of the Kang Sooyeon Award at the Women in Film Korea Festival 2022, which will be held on December 15.


Moon Geunyoung, who debuted in 1999 with the film, On the Way, appeared in many films, including A Tale of Two Sisters (2003), My Little Bride (2004), The Throne (2015), Glass Garden (2017), etc. Actor Moon Geunyoung, who celebrated her 23rd anniversary this year, also opened a new path as a director in 2022. The 3 short films she starred in and directed were officially invited to the Bucheon International Fantastic Film Festival. She also served as a jury member at the Jecheon International Film Festival with the title, ‘Director Moon Geunyoung.’ 


The Kang Sooyeon Award is a newly established award to commemorate the late Kang Sooyeon, the eternal actor and great movie star. Working as an actor for more than 50 years, she raised the status of Korean films in the world. Regardless of gender, the prize will be awarded to filmmakers who contribute to the development of Korean films in each field of acting, directing, screenwriting, production, etc., and 5 million won will be awarded to the winner. 


The 2022 Women in Film Korea Festival, which marks its 23rd anniversary this year, will be held at the 1st Hall of Cinecube Gwanghwamun from 7 p.m. on December 15th. The festival will settle the activities of Women in Film Korea and DEUNDEUN, the Center for Gender Equality in Korean Films, and Actor Moon Sori will host the award ceremony of the 2022 Women in Film Korea Festival. 


The highlight of the festival, the Best Women Filmmaker of the Year award ceremony, is the only award in Korea that highlights women filmmakers who have performed remarkably throughout the year. A total of 11 winners will be awarded, including the Best Female Film Award, Achievement Award, Director Award, and Acting Award.

Any copying, republication or redistribution of KOFIC's content is prohibited without prior consent of KOFIC.
Related People Related Films Related Company
  • SHARE instagram linkedin logo