• News
  • Korean Film News

Korean Film News

JANG Joon-hwan to Preside over 17th Mise-en-scène Short Film Festival Jury

Jun 19, 2018
  • Writer by Pierce Conran
  • View6168
MSFF Invites 10 Top Korean Director as Jurists

The jury for this year’s 17th Mise-en-scène Short Film Festival (MSFF) has been set with 1987: When the Day Comes (2017) director JANG Joon-hwan selected as the jury president while many other top Korean film directors have also been invited to take part.

In total, ten directors have been selected, with five pairs to oversee judging for the festival’s five signature short film competitions, each representing a different genre: ‘A City of Sadness’, ‘A Short Film about Love’, ‘The King of Comedy’, ‘The 40000 Blows’ and ‘The Extreme Nightmare’. Each section awards a prize, while an overall Grand Prize is also bestowed. 

Director JANG, known for his 2003 cult classic Save the Green Planet, scored his biggest ever hit last winter with the 1980s-set political drama 1987: When the Day Comes, which welcomed over seven million viewers.

Many of today’s most prominent directors first gained wide recognition after winning prizes at the Mise-en-scène Short Film Festival, including NA Hong-jin (THE WAILING, 2016), YOON Jong-bin (Nameless Gangster : Rules of the Time, 2012), HUH Jung (Hide and Seek, 2013), JANG Jae-hyun (The Priests, 2015) and LEE Kyoung-mi.

The festival was originally set up by Director’s Cut, an organization of Korean filmmakers that include such luminaries as BONG Joon-ho, PARK Chan-wook, and RYOO Seung-wan among its ranks. This year’s edition will take place from June 28 to July 4.
Any copying, republication or redistribution of KOFIC's content is prohibited without prior consent of KOFIC.
Related People Related Films Related Company
  • SHARE instagram linkedin logo