Expand your search auto-complete function


  1. Korean Film News
  2. KOFIC News
  4. Features
  5. Interview
  6. Location
  7. Post Call for Submissions
  • find news
  • find news searchKeyword
    find search button
See Your Schedule
please enter your email address
find search button
Ko - production in Busan
  • Women in Film Korea (WIFK) honor LIM and GONG
  • by Darcy Paquet (KOFIC) /  Dec 19, 2008
  • Women in Film Korea (WIFK) honor LIM and GONG


    The members of Women in Film Korea, an organization of filmmakers, critics, professors, and technicians devoted to representing women professionals in the Korean film industry, held its annual awards ceremony on December 17 at the Art Sonje Center in Seoul.


    The recipient of the Woman Filmmaker of the Year award for 2008 was director LIM Soon-rye for her critical and commercial hit Forever the Moment. The film, which was released in January, is based on the real-life experiences of the Korean women's handball team that competed at the 2004 Athens Olympics. More than 4 million viewers lined up to watch the film, providing one of the most noteworthy commercial success stories of 2008.


    The organization also presented a best acting prize to GONG Hyo-jin for her gutsy performance in the film Crush and Blush. Her portrayal of the manic, slightly unhinged middle school teacher YANG Mi-sook earned her widespread plaudits throughout the industry. The film's debut director, LEE Kyung-mi, also received the award for best director or screenwriter.


    Other awards included best producer to KIM Soo-jin, who was responsible for the other major hit film of early 2008, The Chaser; the prize for the best short or documentary to KIM Il-ran's documentary 3xFTM; and a lifetime achievement award to director LEE Mi-rye, who directed six films in the 1980s and early 1990s.



    Darcy Paquet (KOFIC)

  • Any copying, republication or redistribution of KOFIC's content is prohibited without prior consent of KOFIC.
  • Comment