Expand your search auto-complete function


  1. Korean Film News
  2. KOFIC News
  4. Features
  5. Interview
  6. Location
  7. Post Call for Submissions
  • find news
  • find news searchKeyword
    find search button
See Your Schedule
please enter your email address
find search button
Ko - production in Busan
  • Promise for Another Decade
  • by LEE Eun-sun /  Nov 07, 2012
  • The 10th Asiana International Short Film Festival Closes Successfully
    The Asiana International Short Film Festival (AISFF), a film festival aimed at the promotion and distribution of short films, finished the 6-day journey of its 10th edition on November 6th. At the awards presentation, the chairwoman SON Sook, the director and jury foreman AHN Sung-ki, other jury members KANG Soo-yeon, JUNG In-gi, Tony RAYNS and TOMIYAMA Katsue, special jury member CHOI Byeong-hwa as well as directors of screened films and festival staff shared the last moment of the festival.
    55 films from 30 countries among the 2,152 collected from 90 countries screened in the international competition section while 5 Korean films among the 135 films submitted for the domestic competition section ‘Traveling Shorts in Korea’ were screened this year. During the 6 days of the festival, a total of 82 films from 32 countries screened in competition sections and special programs, while about 4,200 people watched them.
    Before the awards ceremony, AHN, the foreman of the jury commented that, “There were remarkably good animations this year, which yielded an exceptional result for the first time in 10 years. The jury came to an agreement to pick a film without distinction of genre to give the ‘Special Jury’ award instead of the ‘Animation’ award. I appreciate the great work of the director and congratulate the awardee in advance.”
    The ‘Grand Prize’ was given to Noodle Fish directed by KIM Jin-man. The jury said that Noodle Fish is a film about the journey of a little fish swimming around the vast ocean and ending up on a dinner table where a unique and interesting concept and technical excellence blended well. The jury was especially impressed with the idea of using a storyboard at the climax.
    YANG Ik-june’s Shibata & Nagao and Ujkan HYSAJ’s Kolona won the ‘Best Korean Short Film’ award and the ‘Best International Short Film’ award respectively. The ‘Special Jury’ award went to Kiss & Kill by Alain ROSS. JOUNG Yu-mi’s Love Games received the ‘AISFF Public Jury’ award. Grandma Ocean co-directed by KANG Hui-jin and HAN Ah-ryeom was selected as the recipient of the ‘Traveling Shorts in Korea - Best Short Film’ award. The winner of the ‘AISFF Fund Project’ award and the subsidy of KRW 10 million (USD 9,170) for production support is The Prayer directed by KIM Yu-sin. The Prayer will be finalized by the first half of next year and will be world premiered at the 11th AISFF.

    The 10th edition of AISFF, which saw success as it attracted more interest and participation than any other year, closed its curtain promising to came back next year.
  • Any copying, republication or redistribution of KOFIC's content is prohibited without prior consent of KOFIC.
  • Comment